Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!

Headline Hints
15,095 hints in the system

SORT ON: DATE | ALPHA | VIEWS  •••  ORDER: NEWEST FIRST | OLDEST FIRST
Hint TitleDateViewedCmnts
Spam and trojan horse protection in OS X Fri Dec 29 2000 6,599 0
Trashing preferences Fri Dec 29 2000 11,289 1
PB ONLY - Enabling CGI support in Apache Thu Dec 28 2000 21,850 12
PB ONLY - Harmon Kardon soundstick support Tue Dec 26 2000 8,710 2
Share Explorer info between Classic and OS X Tue Dec 26 2000 4,934 0
Transfer Eudora mailboxes to mail.app Tue Dec 26 2000 8,249 0
Override Host name assigned by DHCP? Sun Dec 24 2000 29,466 6
'Turn off' column view in Open/Save panels Fri Dec 22 2000 4,627 2
Access individual system prefs panels Fri Dec 22 2000 4,538 2
Classic playing nicer Thu Dec 21 2000 10,098 3
Add words to the dictionary Thu Dec 21 2000 15,392 0
Instant screensaver activation Thu Dec 21 2000 11,256 0
Last chance fix for dead machines Thu Dec 21 2000 6,893 5
Move background windows around Thu Dec 21 2000 7,384 1
Analyze your web server stats Wed Dec 20 2000 7,737 0
Find text in messages in mail.app Wed Dec 20 2000 4,446 0
Long file names? Tue Dec 19 2000 5,763 2
identd function not working in IRC Mon Dec 18 2000 10,643 5
Recovering a lost root password Sun Dec 17 2000 248,672 17
Bringing all application windows forward Sun Dec 17 2000 5,403 1
URLs in the Dock Sun Dec 17 2000 6,088 3
Cool jEdit/RBrowser/OS X feature Sat Dec 16 2000 4,715 5
Force an App to open a File Fri Dec 15 2000 6,408 2
Protect your machine with TCP wrapper Fri Dec 15 2000 12,389 6
Move your swap file to another drive Fri Dec 15 2000 88,307 38
Easily work with remote files Thu Dec 14 2000 5,874 1
Adding users from the shell Wed Dec 13 2000 5,511 4
Speed, RAM, and OS X PB Wed Dec 13 2000 4,991 1
Installing mysql and PHP Wed Dec 13 2000 6,417 4
How to make Aqua-esque buttons Wed Dec 13 2000 15,274 4
Additional screensavers Wed Dec 13 2000 4,423 0
Customized login panels and buttons Wed Dec 13 2000 5,948 0
A GUI for system management Wed Dec 13 2000 14,603 6
Sound stopping in Classic Wed Dec 13 2000 4,447 1
Bringing 'Stickies' to the front Wed Dec 13 2000 6,916 0
Remove the 'minor problem' message Tue Dec 12 2000 4,179 1
The OS X version of Disk First Aid Tue Dec 12 2000 10,115 0
Problems compiling Sat Dec 09 2000 3,633 3
Problems after install Fri Dec 08 2000 4,489 1
Higher Resolutions Fri Dec 08 2000 4,877 3
Password protecting Apache web pages Fri Dec 08 2000 15,360 9
Customize your SSH/telnet message Fri Dec 08 2000 7,938 0
Apache, SSI, and virtual hosts Fri Dec 08 2000 10,875 0
GUI for UNIX crontab Thu Dec 07 2000 10,903 0
ntpd under OSX Thu Dec 07 2000 16,547 3
USB Link to Handspring Thu Dec 07 2000 5,055 2
Enabling anonymous FTP Wed Dec 06 2000 52,081 26
Mac vs. UNIX line breaks Wed Dec 06 2000 81,896 18
Older Macs and backside cache in PB Wed Dec 06 2000 4,089 0
Enable OS X audio on older Macs Wed Dec 06 2000 4,427 0
Bypass Aqua Wed Dec 06 2000 6,306 1
How to compile a UNIX app for X Tue Dec 05 2000 11,434 5
Sharing a cable/DSL line Sun Dec 03 2000 5,275 0
Uninstalling MacOS X Sat Dec 02 2000 5,561 0
Reclaiming some MORE space Sat Dec 02 2000 4,424 2
Learn Perl Fri Dec 01 2000 4,478 0
A 'nicer' nice Fri Dec 01 2000 6,643 2
Great text/programming editor Fri Dec 01 2000 11,754 5
Application List and Menu Bar Thu Nov 30 2000 5,235 2
Choosing Applications in Carbon apps Thu Nov 30 2000 5,618 0
How to find IE-downloaded files Thu Nov 30 2000 6,739 2
Scheduling a shutdown Wed Nov 29 2000 4,915 0
USB modem bug in PB Wed Nov 29 2000 6,809 0
How to upgrade Apache Mon Nov 27 2000 10,105 1
Running OS X services on alternate ports Mon Nov 27 2000 15,536 3
Link to a Visor PDA? Mon Nov 27 2000 4,306 3
Purple pdf compositor Sun Nov 26 2000 4,775 4
Kernel panic - System Instability... Sat Nov 25 2000 7,347 3
Using the services menu Sat Nov 25 2000 5,031 7
Adding a password to your screensaver Fri Nov 24 2000 4,585 0
Is there an OS X hosts file that I can edit? Thu Nov 23 2000 72,597 4
Viewing preference files Thu Nov 23 2000 5,289 0
IE filename length bug Wed Nov 22 2000 6,070 1
How to make PDFs in OS X Wed Nov 22 2000 7,562 3
Multiple OS 9 system folders Wed Nov 22 2000 5,211 0
Color-coded 'ls' output Wed Nov 22 2000 47,449 6
Customize the system icons Wed Nov 22 2000 6,184 1
mount points Tue Nov 21 2000 5,267 2
Quicktime Streaming Server Preview 3 Mon Nov 20 2000 6,268 2
Transparent Terminal Mon Nov 20 2000 41,008 15
Classic out of control... Fri Nov 17 2000 5,220 0
Unix user looking for OSX/Mac tips... Thu Nov 16 2000 8,463 14
Links text based web browser Wed Nov 15 2000 9,820 4
How to learn UNIX Sun Nov 12 2000 9,399 0
Apache server speedup Fri Nov 10 2000 6,145 0
How to make OS X Beta print to a USB printer Tue Nov 07 2000 4,469 2
Change network config without rebooting Tue Nov 07 2000 6,662 0
Colorizing the terminal window Mon Nov 06 2000 6,863 1
Lynx browser on OS X? Sun Nov 05 2000 31,125 10
Terminal and 'Process Completed' error Sun Nov 05 2000 24,243 9
OS X and scheduled tasks Sun Nov 05 2000 28,307 3
How to make AirPort work under OS X Sun Nov 05 2000 11,167 2
WebDAV folders under OS X Sun Nov 05 2000 19,710 1
Quickly find any text string in any set of files Sun Nov 05 2000 73,850 3
Welcome to Mac OS X Hints! Sat Nov 04 2000 24,416 13