Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!

Headline Hints
15,114 hints in the system

SORT ON: DATE | ALPHA | VIEWS  •••  ORDER: NEWEST FIRST  | OLDEST FIRST
Hint TitleDateViewedCmnts
Bug in Finder list view Tue May 22 2001 2,860 2
Sound problems between OS 9 and OS X Tue May 22 2001 2,228 3
Jump to locations in open/save dialogs Tue May 22 2001 4,253 3
Dynamic terminal window titles Tue May 22 2001 15,396 7
Default start-up commands in custom terminals Tue May 22 2001 6,910 5
Multiple icon sizes in one view area Wed May 23 2001 7,537 7
Mail List/Preview window toggle Thu May 24 2001 3,677 3
Turn off File Size display to speed Finder list views Thu May 24 2001 8,713 2
Undo in the Finder Thu May 24 2001 2,659 0
Beige G3 install problem and solution Fri May 25 2001 3,859 2
Network Preferences file location Fri May 25 2001 6,835 1
Change your hostname from 'localhost' Sat May 26 2001 33,378 8
Installing a newer SSH2 Sun May 27 2001 10,193 3
Minimize extension sets to reduce Classic conflicts Mon May 28 2001 3,078 1
Install warning for Beige G3s with Ultra Wide SCSI Mon May 28 2001 3,500 1
Adding an unsupported printer to Epson's drivers Tue May 29 2001 6,413 22
Use SSH for secure AppleShare sessions Tue May 29 2001 7,028 2
Keyboard-based restart and shutdown Wed May 30 2001 2,677 4
OS X without the stripes Wed May 30 2001 2,608 3
Easily remove an installed OS X system Thu May 31 2001 7,913 2
Possible solution to '?' icon at startup Thu May 31 2001 2,834 1
Free units conversion app in OS X Thu May 31 2001 4,261 8
Preview pane for icon and list views Fri Jun 01 2001 2,947 2
Floating desktop calendar Sat Jun 02 2001 7,469 7
Save your Stickies database... Sat Jun 02 2001 21,304 0
Use the Console app to monitor other system logs Sat Jun 02 2001 6,829 5
Don't quit apps - hide them! Sun Jun 03 2001 4,382 5
Perl LWP modules and UNIX 'head' file Sun Jun 03 2001 15,887 9
LaunchBar launcher app Mon Jun 04 2001 3,566 6
Disable anti-aliased fonts Tue Jun 05 2001 13,212 7
Ethereal packet sniffer available Tue Jun 05 2001 27,537 5
Getting access to the hidden directories in the Finder Thu Jun 07 2001 5,108 0
Order of operation for mail rules Thu Jun 07 2001 2,685 0
Wacom tablet driver (sort of) available Thu Jun 07 2001 3,162 2
Accessing UNIX folders in the GUI via the Terminal Fri Jun 08 2001 6,805 5
Assigning function keys in Cocoa apps Fri Jun 08 2001 9,535 5
Print from classic to USB printer Fri Jun 08 2001 2,113 5
Disable internet connections on your PowerBook Sat Jun 09 2001 5,129 1
Drag and drop 'business cards' Sun Jun 10 2001 3,246 0
Empty a non-emptiable trash can Sun Jun 10 2001 18,799 19
Install a replacement mail server Tue Jun 12 2001 3,673 3
Easy and complete folder backups Tue Jun 12 2001 5,770 5
Apache security hole in OS X Client Tue Jun 12 2001 2,900 8
A detailed look at memory usage in OS X Wed Jun 13 2001 141,947 10
Updated Developer Tools released Thu Jun 14 2001 1,851 2
Browse menus with option key to see more choices Thu Jun 14 2001 3,796 3
Aliases to remote volumes fail in docked folders Fri Jun 15 2001 3,416 1
Simple Mac OS X Perl tutorial Tue Jun 19 2001 7,542 1
Opera browser Technology Preview released Tue Jun 19 2001 2,275 3
Quickly access sound preferences Tue Jun 19 2001 2,979 4
Use MenuStrip to hide applications Tue Jun 19 2001 2,939 2
Move the Users folder to a new partition Tue Jun 19 2001 24,053 15
Install X on older Macs Thu Jun 21 2001 2,218 0
10.0.4 update released Thu Jun 21 2001 3,641 17
Resolve SSH problems in 10.0.4 Fri Jun 22 2001 4,061 13
Command-release dock submenus Fri Jun 22 2001 2,844 2
Advanced FTP server setup info Sat Jun 23 2001 7,118 5
Available memory and printing problems Mon Jun 25 2001 2,629 0
Leaving messages 'unread' in mail.app Mon Jun 25 2001 2,556 0
10.0.4 resolves (some?) USB issues Mon Jun 25 2001 3,211 5
Shell script for copying files and resource forks Tue Jun 26 2001 3,775 1
Uptime stats in OS X? Tue Jun 26 2001 43,269 28
Use the clipboard in the terminal Wed Jun 27 2001 14,458 6
LaCie USB floppy drive support in OS X Thu Jun 28 2001 23,708 9
Scott Adams' Adventures Thu Jun 28 2001 5,469 0
Move items from one drive to another Fri Jun 29 2001 2,953 0
Install the latest Analog web tracking program Sat Jun 30 2001 4,847 1
Partial control of apps in the background Sun Jul 01 2001 3,001 5
Restore your dock pinning and orientation Sun Jul 01 2001 5,564 2
Hide any program's dock icon Sun Jul 01 2001 157,142 29
Run shell scripts from GUI Mon Jul 02 2001 7,011 8
Changing shortuct keys in 'Services' Tue Jul 03 2001 5,632 5
OS X Server - Error with POST and CGIs? Tue Jul 03 2001 2,330 0
OS X GNU software packages Wed Jul 04 2001 2,815 0
A replacement 'page' command Mon Jul 09 2001 1,949 0
New auto-change desktop picture script Mon Jul 09 2001 8,553 2
How to run CGIs from the user's Sites folder Mon Jul 09 2001 8,192 11
Scroll wheels and MoviePlayer Mon Jul 09 2001 1,993 0
Open source WaveLAN drivers available Mon Jul 09 2001 2,700 2
Using name-based virtual hosts on OS X Mon Jul 09 2001 2,838 0
Use 'Tempus' to keep maintenance tasks current Mon Jul 09 2001 2,606 0
Make a completely transparent dock Mon Jul 09 2001 13,146 6
Revise the date display in mail.app Tue Jul 10 2001 2,238 0
Tomb Raider Chronicles demo released Wed Jul 11 2001 6,189 0
Disconnect users from the terminal Wed Jul 11 2001 10,404 7
Shell-based file and directory manager Thu Jul 12 2001 7,509 2
Caution - Xmorph security hole... Fri Jul 13 2001 2,203 3
Selecting and deleting items in mail Sat Jul 14 2001 1,899 0
Debugging help for supported USB printers Sat Jul 14 2001 2,191 0
Hidden games in Mac OS X Sun Jul 15 2001 11,242 1
A GUI app for UNIX scripts Mon Jul 16 2001 2,670 6
Keep your clock afloat between restarts Tue Jul 17 2001 2,672 3
Dave 3.0 for X released as a free preview Tue Jul 17 2001 4,116 0
Auto-complete filenames in Finder Tue Jul 17 2001 10,772 3
Use phpmyadmin to manage mySQL databases Tue Jul 17 2001 3,072 0
Sherlock word substitutions file Wed Jul 18 2001 2,811 0
Apple's 10.1 information page Wed Jul 18 2001 1,842 1
Install and use Toast5 Preview without a reboot Wed Jul 18 2001 2,041 0
Changing default Ethernet connection rate? Thu Jul 19 2001 6,801 4
Making OS X Server accept POSTs from CGIs Thu Jul 19 2001 2,849 1