Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!

Headline Hints
15,114 hints in the system

SORT ON: DATE | ALPHA | VIEWS  •••  ORDER: NEWEST FIRST  | OLDEST FIRST
Hint TitleDateViewedCmnts
Welcome to Mac OS X Hints! Sat Nov 04 2000 24,850 13
Quickly find any text string in any set of files Sun Nov 05 2000 81,488 3
WebDAV folders under OS X Sun Nov 05 2000 19,824 1
How to make AirPort work under OS X Sun Nov 05 2000 11,317 2
OS X and scheduled tasks Sun Nov 05 2000 28,548 3
Terminal and 'Process Completed' error Sun Nov 05 2000 25,568 9
Lynx browser on OS X? Sun Nov 05 2000 31,710 10
Colorizing the terminal window Mon Nov 06 2000 6,928 1
Change network config without rebooting Tue Nov 07 2000 6,709 0
How to make OS X Beta print to a USB printer Tue Nov 07 2000 4,522 2
Apache server speedup Fri Nov 10 2000 6,238 0
How to learn UNIX Sun Nov 12 2000 9,562 0
Links text based web browser Wed Nov 15 2000 10,044 4
Unix user looking for OSX/Mac tips... Thu Nov 16 2000 8,524 14
Classic out of control... Fri Nov 17 2000 5,255 0
Transparent Terminal Mon Nov 20 2000 41,566 15
Quicktime Streaming Server Preview 3 Mon Nov 20 2000 6,326 2
mount points Tue Nov 21 2000 5,310 2
Customize the system icons Wed Nov 22 2000 6,246 1
Color-coded 'ls' output Wed Nov 22 2000 47,771 6
Multiple OS 9 system folders Wed Nov 22 2000 5,265 0
How to make PDFs in OS X Wed Nov 22 2000 7,624 3
IE filename length bug Wed Nov 22 2000 6,144 1
Viewing preference files Thu Nov 23 2000 5,353 0
Is there an OS X hosts file that I can edit? Thu Nov 23 2000 72,756 4
Adding a password to your screensaver Fri Nov 24 2000 4,638 0
Using the services menu Sat Nov 25 2000 5,075 7
Kernel panic - System Instability... Sat Nov 25 2000 7,404 3
Purple pdf compositor Sun Nov 26 2000 4,817 4
Link to a Visor PDA? Mon Nov 27 2000 4,346 3
Running OS X services on alternate ports Mon Nov 27 2000 15,663 3
How to upgrade Apache Mon Nov 27 2000 10,192 1
USB modem bug in PB Wed Nov 29 2000 6,851 0
Scheduling a shutdown Wed Nov 29 2000 4,964 0
How to find IE-downloaded files Thu Nov 30 2000 6,811 2
Choosing Applications in Carbon apps Thu Nov 30 2000 5,659 0
Application List and Menu Bar Thu Nov 30 2000 5,293 2
Great text/programming editor Fri Dec 01 2000 11,822 5
A 'nicer' nice Fri Dec 01 2000 6,713 2
Learn Perl Fri Dec 01 2000 4,545 0
Reclaiming some MORE space Sat Dec 02 2000 4,463 2
Uninstalling MacOS X Sat Dec 02 2000 5,606 0
Sharing a cable/DSL line Sun Dec 03 2000 5,348 0
How to compile a UNIX app for X Tue Dec 05 2000 11,578 5
Bypass Aqua Wed Dec 06 2000 6,434 1
Enable OS X audio on older Macs Wed Dec 06 2000 4,462 0
Older Macs and backside cache in PB Wed Dec 06 2000 4,138 0
Mac vs. UNIX line breaks Wed Dec 06 2000 84,461 18
Enabling anonymous FTP Wed Dec 06 2000 53,109 26
USB Link to Handspring Thu Dec 07 2000 5,121 2
ntpd under OSX Thu Dec 07 2000 16,724 3
GUI for UNIX crontab Thu Dec 07 2000 11,068 0
Apache, SSI, and virtual hosts Fri Dec 08 2000 11,164 0
Customize your SSH/telnet message Fri Dec 08 2000 8,116 0
Password protecting Apache web pages Fri Dec 08 2000 16,059 9
Higher Resolutions Fri Dec 08 2000 4,928 3
Problems after install Fri Dec 08 2000 4,553 1
Problems compiling Sat Dec 09 2000 3,677 3
The OS X version of Disk First Aid Tue Dec 12 2000 10,261 0
Remove the 'minor problem' message Tue Dec 12 2000 4,240 1
Bringing 'Stickies' to the front Wed Dec 13 2000 7,071 0
Sound stopping in Classic Wed Dec 13 2000 4,486 1
A GUI for system management Wed Dec 13 2000 14,852 6
Customized login panels and buttons Wed Dec 13 2000 5,995 0
Additional screensavers Wed Dec 13 2000 4,469 0
How to make Aqua-esque buttons Wed Dec 13 2000 15,407 4
Installing mysql and PHP Wed Dec 13 2000 8,352 4
Speed, RAM, and OS X PB Wed Dec 13 2000 5,031 1
Adding users from the shell Wed Dec 13 2000 5,571 4
Easily work with remote files Thu Dec 14 2000 5,912 1
Move your swap file to another drive Fri Dec 15 2000 89,902 38
Protect your machine with TCP wrapper Fri Dec 15 2000 12,554 6
Force an App to open a File Fri Dec 15 2000 6,573 2
Cool jEdit/RBrowser/OS X feature Sat Dec 16 2000 4,760 5
URLs in the Dock Sun Dec 17 2000 6,191 3
Bringing all application windows forward Sun Dec 17 2000 5,553 1
Recovering a lost root password Sun Dec 17 2000 254,218 17
identd function not working in IRC Mon Dec 18 2000 10,742 5
Long file names? Tue Dec 19 2000 5,868 2
Find text in messages in mail.app Wed Dec 20 2000 4,526 0
Analyze your web server stats Wed Dec 20 2000 7,926 0
Move background windows around Thu Dec 21 2000 7,443 1
Last chance fix for dead machines Thu Dec 21 2000 6,971 5
Instant screensaver activation Thu Dec 21 2000 11,486 0
Add words to the dictionary Thu Dec 21 2000 15,871 0
Classic playing nicer Thu Dec 21 2000 10,270 3
Access individual system prefs panels Fri Dec 22 2000 4,579 2
'Turn off' column view in Open/Save panels Fri Dec 22 2000 4,715 2
Override Host name assigned by DHCP? Sun Dec 24 2000 30,141 6
Transfer Eudora mailboxes to mail.app Tue Dec 26 2000 8,352 0
Share Explorer info between Classic and OS X Tue Dec 26 2000 5,000 0
PB ONLY - Harmon Kardon soundstick support Tue Dec 26 2000 8,830 2
PB ONLY - Enabling CGI support in Apache Thu Dec 28 2000 23,043 12
Trashing preferences Fri Dec 29 2000 11,534 1
Spam and trojan horse protection in OS X Fri Dec 29 2000 6,696 0
Finder display of free space and file count Sat Dec 30 2000 7,338 1
How to fix an invisible disk under OS 9 Sat Dec 30 2000 4,988 1
What to do if apps only launch when you're 'root' Sun Dec 31 2000 4,055 0
An intro to UNIX file permissions Sun Dec 31 2000 18,582 4
Unsaved file marker Sun Dec 31 2000 8,238 1