Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!

Headline Hints
15,118 hints in the system

SORT ON: DATE | ALPHA | VIEWS  •••  ORDER: NEWEST FIRST  | OLDEST FIRST
Hint TitleDateViewedCmnts
Welcome to Mac OS X Hints! Sat Nov 04 2000 25,179 13
Quickly find any text string in any set of files Sun Nov 05 2000 86,649 3
WebDAV folders under OS X Sun Nov 05 2000 19,945 1
How to make AirPort work under OS X Sun Nov 05 2000 11,394 2
OS X and scheduled tasks Sun Nov 05 2000 28,713 3
Terminal and 'Process Completed' error Sun Nov 05 2000 26,656 9
Lynx browser on OS X? Sun Nov 05 2000 32,128 10
Colorizing the terminal window Mon Nov 06 2000 6,967 1
Change network config without rebooting Tue Nov 07 2000 6,743 0
How to make OS X Beta print to a USB printer Tue Nov 07 2000 4,564 2
Apache server speedup Fri Nov 10 2000 6,306 0
How to learn UNIX Sun Nov 12 2000 9,666 0
Links text based web browser Wed Nov 15 2000 10,225 4
Unix user looking for OSX/Mac tips... Thu Nov 16 2000 8,572 14
Classic out of control... Fri Nov 17 2000 5,291 0
Transparent Terminal Mon Nov 20 2000 41,955 15
Quicktime Streaming Server Preview 3 Mon Nov 20 2000 6,371 2
mount points Tue Nov 21 2000 5,350 2
Customize the system icons Wed Nov 22 2000 6,301 1
Color-coded 'ls' output Wed Nov 22 2000 47,971 6
Multiple OS 9 system folders Wed Nov 22 2000 5,305 0
How to make PDFs in OS X Wed Nov 22 2000 7,673 3
IE filename length bug Wed Nov 22 2000 6,202 1
Viewing preference files Thu Nov 23 2000 5,409 0
Is there an OS X hosts file that I can edit? Thu Nov 23 2000 72,900 4
Adding a password to your screensaver Fri Nov 24 2000 4,682 0
Using the services menu Sat Nov 25 2000 5,113 7
Kernel panic - System Instability... Sat Nov 25 2000 7,452 3
Purple pdf compositor Sun Nov 26 2000 4,867 4
Link to a Visor PDA? Mon Nov 27 2000 4,377 3
Running OS X services on alternate ports Mon Nov 27 2000 15,763 3
How to upgrade Apache Mon Nov 27 2000 10,285 1
USB modem bug in PB Wed Nov 29 2000 6,899 0
Scheduling a shutdown Wed Nov 29 2000 5,007 0
How to find IE-downloaded files Thu Nov 30 2000 6,859 2
Choosing Applications in Carbon apps Thu Nov 30 2000 5,695 0
Application List and Menu Bar Thu Nov 30 2000 5,332 2
Great text/programming editor Fri Dec 01 2000 11,888 5
A 'nicer' nice Fri Dec 01 2000 6,755 2
Learn Perl Fri Dec 01 2000 4,573 0
Reclaiming some MORE space Sat Dec 02 2000 4,504 2
Uninstalling MacOS X Sat Dec 02 2000 5,642 0
Sharing a cable/DSL line Sun Dec 03 2000 5,425 0
How to compile a UNIX app for X Tue Dec 05 2000 11,668 5
Bypass Aqua Wed Dec 06 2000 6,526 1
Enable OS X audio on older Macs Wed Dec 06 2000 4,494 0
Older Macs and backside cache in PB Wed Dec 06 2000 4,180 0
Mac vs. UNIX line breaks Wed Dec 06 2000 86,200 18
Enabling anonymous FTP Wed Dec 06 2000 53,840 26
USB Link to Handspring Thu Dec 07 2000 5,174 2
ntpd under OSX Thu Dec 07 2000 16,846 3
GUI for UNIX crontab Thu Dec 07 2000 11,190 0
Apache, SSI, and virtual hosts Fri Dec 08 2000 11,450 0
Customize your SSH/telnet message Fri Dec 08 2000 8,278 0
Password protecting Apache web pages Fri Dec 08 2000 16,595 9
Higher Resolutions Fri Dec 08 2000 4,964 3
Problems after install Fri Dec 08 2000 4,591 1
Problems compiling Sat Dec 09 2000 3,707 3
The OS X version of Disk First Aid Tue Dec 12 2000 10,382 0
Remove the 'minor problem' message Tue Dec 12 2000 4,297 1
Bringing 'Stickies' to the front Wed Dec 13 2000 7,183 0
Sound stopping in Classic Wed Dec 13 2000 4,520 1
A GUI for system management Wed Dec 13 2000 15,295 6
Customized login panels and buttons Wed Dec 13 2000 6,025 0
Additional screensavers Wed Dec 13 2000 4,507 0
How to make Aqua-esque buttons Wed Dec 13 2000 15,500 4
Installing mysql and PHP Wed Dec 13 2000 9,031 4
Speed, RAM, and OS X PB Wed Dec 13 2000 5,068 1
Adding users from the shell Wed Dec 13 2000 5,646 4
Easily work with remote files Thu Dec 14 2000 5,956 1
Move your swap file to another drive Fri Dec 15 2000 90,914 38
Protect your machine with TCP wrapper Fri Dec 15 2000 12,680 6
Force an App to open a File Fri Dec 15 2000 6,681 2
Cool jEdit/RBrowser/OS X feature Sat Dec 16 2000 4,796 5
URLs in the Dock Sun Dec 17 2000 6,296 3
Bringing all application windows forward Sun Dec 17 2000 5,686 1
Recovering a lost root password Sun Dec 17 2000 257,178 17
identd function not working in IRC Mon Dec 18 2000 10,835 5
Long file names? Tue Dec 19 2000 5,950 2
Find text in messages in mail.app Wed Dec 20 2000 4,583 0
Analyze your web server stats Wed Dec 20 2000 8,036 0
Move background windows around Thu Dec 21 2000 7,497 1
Last chance fix for dead machines Thu Dec 21 2000 7,016 5
Instant screensaver activation Thu Dec 21 2000 11,620 0
Add words to the dictionary Thu Dec 21 2000 16,248 0
Classic playing nicer Thu Dec 21 2000 10,381 3
Access individual system prefs panels Fri Dec 22 2000 4,628 2
'Turn off' column view in Open/Save panels Fri Dec 22 2000 4,802 2
Override Host name assigned by DHCP? Sun Dec 24 2000 30,661 6
Transfer Eudora mailboxes to mail.app Tue Dec 26 2000 8,416 0
Share Explorer info between Classic and OS X Tue Dec 26 2000 5,095 0
PB ONLY - Harmon Kardon soundstick support Tue Dec 26 2000 8,949 2
PB ONLY - Enabling CGI support in Apache Thu Dec 28 2000 24,458 12
Trashing preferences Fri Dec 29 2000 11,725 1
Spam and trojan horse protection in OS X Fri Dec 29 2000 6,756 0
Finder display of free space and file count Sat Dec 30 2000 7,401 1
How to fix an invisible disk under OS 9 Sat Dec 30 2000 5,020 1
What to do if apps only launch when you're 'root' Sun Dec 31 2000 4,099 0
An intro to UNIX file permissions Sun Dec 31 2000 18,899 4
Unsaved file marker Sun Dec 31 2000 8,325 1