Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!

Headline Hints
15,094 hints in the system

SORT ON: DATE | ALPHA | VIEWS  •••  ORDER: NEWEST FIRST  | OLDEST FIRST
Hint TitleDateViewedCmnts
Welcome to Mac OS X Hints! Sat Nov 04 2000 24,381 13
Quickly find any text string in any set of files Sun Nov 05 2000 73,470 3
WebDAV folders under OS X Sun Nov 05 2000 19,709 1
How to make AirPort work under OS X Sun Nov 05 2000 11,148 2
OS X and scheduled tasks Sun Nov 05 2000 28,299 3
Terminal and 'Process Completed' error Sun Nov 05 2000 24,186 9
Lynx browser on OS X? Sun Nov 05 2000 31,105 10
Colorizing the terminal window Mon Nov 06 2000 6,863 1
Change network config without rebooting Tue Nov 07 2000 6,660 0
How to make OS X Beta print to a USB printer Tue Nov 07 2000 4,469 2
Apache server speedup Fri Nov 10 2000 6,143 0
How to learn UNIX Sun Nov 12 2000 9,387 0
Links text based web browser Wed Nov 15 2000 9,812 4
Unix user looking for OSX/Mac tips... Thu Nov 16 2000 8,457 14
Classic out of control... Fri Nov 17 2000 5,213 0
Transparent Terminal Mon Nov 20 2000 40,974 15
Quicktime Streaming Server Preview 3 Mon Nov 20 2000 6,263 2
mount points Tue Nov 21 2000 5,266 2
Customize the system icons Wed Nov 22 2000 6,178 1
Color-coded 'ls' output Wed Nov 22 2000 47,435 6
Multiple OS 9 system folders Wed Nov 22 2000 5,208 0
How to make PDFs in OS X Wed Nov 22 2000 7,555 3
IE filename length bug Wed Nov 22 2000 6,066 1
Viewing preference files Thu Nov 23 2000 5,283 0
Is there an OS X hosts file that I can edit? Thu Nov 23 2000 72,585 4
Adding a password to your screensaver Fri Nov 24 2000 4,582 0
Using the services menu Sat Nov 25 2000 5,026 7
Kernel panic - System Instability... Sat Nov 25 2000 7,343 3
Purple pdf compositor Sun Nov 26 2000 4,772 4
Link to a Visor PDA? Mon Nov 27 2000 4,303 3
Running OS X services on alternate ports Mon Nov 27 2000 15,529 3
How to upgrade Apache Mon Nov 27 2000 10,102 1
USB modem bug in PB Wed Nov 29 2000 6,807 0
Scheduling a shutdown Wed Nov 29 2000 4,915 0
How to find IE-downloaded files Thu Nov 30 2000 6,734 2
Choosing Applications in Carbon apps Thu Nov 30 2000 5,618 0
Application List and Menu Bar Thu Nov 30 2000 5,231 2
Great text/programming editor Fri Dec 01 2000 11,750 5
A 'nicer' nice Fri Dec 01 2000 6,637 2
Learn Perl Fri Dec 01 2000 4,474 0
Reclaiming some MORE space Sat Dec 02 2000 4,422 2
Uninstalling MacOS X Sat Dec 02 2000 5,558 0
Sharing a cable/DSL line Sun Dec 03 2000 5,269 0
How to compile a UNIX app for X Tue Dec 05 2000 11,427 5
Bypass Aqua Wed Dec 06 2000 6,302 1
Enable OS X audio on older Macs Wed Dec 06 2000 4,425 0
Older Macs and backside cache in PB Wed Dec 06 2000 4,089 0
Mac vs. UNIX line breaks Wed Dec 06 2000 81,769 18
Enabling anonymous FTP Wed Dec 06 2000 52,035 26
USB Link to Handspring Thu Dec 07 2000 5,050 2
ntpd under OSX Thu Dec 07 2000 16,540 3
GUI for UNIX crontab Thu Dec 07 2000 10,884 0
Apache, SSI, and virtual hosts Fri Dec 08 2000 10,867 0
Customize your SSH/telnet message Fri Dec 08 2000 7,931 0
Password protecting Apache web pages Fri Dec 08 2000 15,336 9
Higher Resolutions Fri Dec 08 2000 4,875 3
Problems after install Fri Dec 08 2000 4,486 1
Problems compiling Sat Dec 09 2000 3,631 3
The OS X version of Disk First Aid Tue Dec 12 2000 10,109 0
Remove the 'minor problem' message Tue Dec 12 2000 4,176 1
Bringing 'Stickies' to the front Wed Dec 13 2000 6,910 0
Sound stopping in Classic Wed Dec 13 2000 4,445 1
A GUI for system management Wed Dec 13 2000 14,593 6
Customized login panels and buttons Wed Dec 13 2000 5,947 0
Additional screensavers Wed Dec 13 2000 4,417 0
How to make Aqua-esque buttons Wed Dec 13 2000 15,268 4
Installing mysql and PHP Wed Dec 13 2000 6,413 4
Speed, RAM, and OS X PB Wed Dec 13 2000 4,986 1
Adding users from the shell Wed Dec 13 2000 5,507 4
Easily work with remote files Thu Dec 14 2000 5,869 1
Move your swap file to another drive Fri Dec 15 2000 88,195 38
Protect your machine with TCP wrapper Fri Dec 15 2000 12,382 6
Force an App to open a File Fri Dec 15 2000 6,401 2
Cool jEdit/RBrowser/OS X feature Sat Dec 16 2000 4,714 5
URLs in the Dock Sun Dec 17 2000 6,084 3
Bringing all application windows forward Sun Dec 17 2000 5,401 1
Recovering a lost root password Sun Dec 17 2000 248,410 17
identd function not working in IRC Mon Dec 18 2000 10,639 5
Long file names? Tue Dec 19 2000 5,759 2
Find text in messages in mail.app Wed Dec 20 2000 4,443 0
Analyze your web server stats Wed Dec 20 2000 7,729 0
Move background windows around Thu Dec 21 2000 7,382 1
Last chance fix for dead machines Thu Dec 21 2000 6,891 5
Instant screensaver activation Thu Dec 21 2000 11,245 0
Add words to the dictionary Thu Dec 21 2000 15,372 0
Classic playing nicer Thu Dec 21 2000 10,086 3
Access individual system prefs panels Fri Dec 22 2000 4,536 2
'Turn off' column view in Open/Save panels Fri Dec 22 2000 4,619 2
Override Host name assigned by DHCP? Sun Dec 24 2000 29,436 6
Transfer Eudora mailboxes to mail.app Tue Dec 26 2000 8,246 0
Share Explorer info between Classic and OS X Tue Dec 26 2000 4,929 0
PB ONLY - Harmon Kardon soundstick support Tue Dec 26 2000 8,705 2
PB ONLY - Enabling CGI support in Apache Thu Dec 28 2000 21,811 12
Trashing preferences Fri Dec 29 2000 11,282 1
Spam and trojan horse protection in OS X Fri Dec 29 2000 6,579 0
Finder display of free space and file count Sat Dec 30 2000 7,224 1
How to fix an invisible disk under OS 9 Sat Dec 30 2000 4,946 1
What to do if apps only launch when you're 'root' Sun Dec 31 2000 3,994 0
An intro to UNIX file permissions Sun Dec 31 2000 17,987 4
Unsaved file marker Sun Dec 31 2000 8,119 1