Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the '10.5: How to reset Leopard back to the Setup Assistant' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
10.5: How to reset Leopard back to the Setup Assistant
Authored by: MonsieurBon on Nov 29, '07 05:32:32PM
I would strongly recommend AGAINST just deleting the plist file and the user folder.

I tried that method and compared it to using dscl properly. If you just delete the plist file and the user folder, it leaves things behind that can cause problems. For example, when I just deleted the plist and the user folder, rebooted the system, went through setup, created a new user, and launched keychain, the keychain password for the NEW user's keychain was that of the original user I had deleted.

So I would suggest you use the following method for deleting a user in single-user mode when prepping a system image or setting it up for a new user, instead of just deleting the plist file:

/bin/launchctl load /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.DirectoryServices.plist &

dscl . -delete /Users/temp


[ Reply to This | # ]