Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the '10.5: How to reset Leopard back to the Setup Assistant' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
10.5: How to reset Leopard back to the Setup Assistant
Authored by: mike666 on Nov 23, '07 02:38:03PM

Interesting - starting DirectoryServices didn't work when I originally tried it on an Intel mini with a fresh 10.5 install. I just tried it on one of our demo machines and it did work, though. I guess it's up to you whether you want to delete the plist file or zap the account through dscl - both accomplish the same thing and require almost the same amount of typing...



[ Reply to This | # ]
10.5: How to reset Leopard back to the Setup Assistant
Authored by: MonsieurBon on Nov 29, '07 12:32:33PM

Actually, if you just delete the plist file, the first user you create on the new system has a UID of 502. If you load DS instead, and then use dscl to delete the account, the first user you create on the new system has a UID of 501.

So this indicates to me that deleting the plist file may in some way be an incomplete method of deleting the user.



[ Reply to This | # ]