Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the '10.5: How to delete objects from Time Machine backups' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
10.5: How to delete objects from Time Machine backups
Authored by: davipt on Nov 18, '07 03:34:20AM

1. Can someone please clarity if the "Delete Backup" option deletes the selected files, or the whole backup set? It's not clear anywhere.

2. In my case, both for "delete backup" and "delete all for file x" pops up a authentication dialogue. Unfortunately it's impossible to focus on any field, and thus impossible to put the password. It's only possible to press ok (and thus "invalid password") or cancel (and thus cancel the deletion of the backup).

3. What is it with the nice window and the impossibility of task switching?

Time machine looks nice, but perfectly worthless IMHO



[ Reply to This | # ]
10.5: How to delete objects from Time Machine backups
Authored by: aqsalter on Nov 18, '07 04:27:12PM

I doesn't seem to delete all backups, just the currently highlighted one, which makes it pretty useless in my opinion.
It should also be available via right click, not just gears icon.



[ Reply to This | # ]
10.5: How to delete objects from Time Machine backups
Authored by: aqsalter on Nov 18, '07 05:38:01PM

Re: my previous comment...

Delete from all backups seems to work, it just takes a long time and there is no indication when it starts/finishes.

I did a "delete all" a while back, and nothing happened. Now it has been deleted from all backups... Yay?



[ Reply to This | # ]
authentication issue
Authored by: ekerkhoff on Nov 27, '07 08:46:10PM

I had the same problem. Repairing the disk permissions on the boot volume fixed it.



[ Reply to This | # ]
10.5: How to delete objects from Time Machine backups
Authored by: Jason Bourne on Nov 26, '08 07:59:16AM

I got that password prompt too and finally figured out how to enter the password. While this prompt is open in the Time Machine, click on the close icon (the red one) in the title of the topmost Finder window. This will close time machine but leave the prompt on the screen. You will be able to enter the password and delete operation will continue. Do not use Time Machine's "CANCEL" button, it will cancel deletion! Close Finder in the Time Machine, that's all :)



[ Reply to This | # ]