Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the '10.4: Manually add a Tiger Software Update Server' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
10.4: Manually add a Tiger Software Update Server
Authored by: dkoff on Nov 12, '07 06:02:39PM

this process doesn't work for me. i am able to force any user to revert to using apple's own softwareupdate servers by DELETING those pref files from any user's home folder as well as the root directory.

# To kill the root account
rm /Library/Preferences/com.apple./SoftwareUpdate.plist

# To kill any other account
rm ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple./SoftwareUpdate.plist

running this will delete these files, not alter them. no restart is necessary. running software update via the GUI will now return you to apple's servers as originally all macs ship.



[ Reply to This | # ]