Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the 'Do Not Move Folders Either' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Do Not Move Folders Either
Authored by: paulio on Jul 21, '07 07:56:07PM

I know that I said this before, but I'm going to say it again with different emphasis.

I had one client "reorganize" her User folder. She dropped her ~/user/Library folder into her ~/user/Documents folder. On restart she had much of her stuff missing: Preferences, Mail, Address Book, iCal. Coming from Windows, she thought she had lost everything.

Realize that there is *no* error message when making such a move because these are all the user's folders. The user has read/write permissions to them. There must be many other folders like this, but the Library folder is the most obvious one.

This will usually bite power users who are switchers from Windows.

Guideline for Power users and Switchers: If you did not create the file/folder then don't move/rename/delete it.



[ Reply to This | # ]