Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the '10.4: Move Users directory to another partition' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
10.4: Move Users directory to another partition
Authored by: pinguru on Apr 20, '07 02:34:21AM

We need to do this for all our users for various reasons.

Provided I get the entries correct in fstab, it works just fine, and we still have root to login as if big problems happen.

The thing that's bugging me though is when I have

UUID=XXXX1234-XXXX-1234-XXXX-1234XXXX1234 /Users hfs rw,auto 0 0

or

LABEL=User-Homes /Users hfs rw,auto 0 0

in fstab, the volume 'User-Homes' still shows up on the desktop as well as being mounted at /Users. This doesn't half cause the users to get in a confused state rather quick. Does anybody know how to stop the volume from showing on the desktop and just mount as requested????

Cheers
Dan



[ Reply to This | # ]