Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the '10.4: Move Users directory to another partition' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
10.4: Move Users directory to another partition
Authored by: balthisar on Apr 16, '07 08:10:12AM

What's the benefit of this hint versus using fstab? I've been using something like this in my fstab files since Mac OS X 10.0 or 10.1:

LABEL=BigUsers /Users hfs rw 1 2

No messing about loading anything into Netinfo database; software updates work properly; applications work properly; and everything else I can think of just works properly.

Maybe I'm just incredibly lucky, or just happen not to use applications that get confused by this.

Oh, yeah: I *do* have to keep the volume name for the Users volume different on each computer, though, otherwise interesting things happen when I SMB-mount the other computers' Users volumes.

---
--Jim (me)



[ Reply to This | # ]
10.4: Move Users directory to another partition
Authored by: Anonymous on Apr 16, '07 08:15:07AM

No, you're not lucky. I use exactly the same method with no problems. Not necessary even to create a symbolic link. Mind you, I do name my partition "Users".



[ Reply to This | # ]
10.4: Move Users directory to another partition
Authored by: timcrawf on Apr 19, '07 07:51:57AM

how do I do this. Please give more details



[ Reply to This | # ]
10.4: Move Users directory to another partition
Authored by: pinguru on Apr 20, '07 02:34:21AM

We need to do this for all our users for various reasons.

Provided I get the entries correct in fstab, it works just fine, and we still have root to login as if big problems happen.

The thing that's bugging me though is when I have

UUID=XXXX1234-XXXX-1234-XXXX-1234XXXX1234 /Users hfs rw,auto 0 0

or

LABEL=User-Homes /Users hfs rw,auto 0 0

in fstab, the volume 'User-Homes' still shows up on the desktop as well as being mounted at /Users. This doesn't half cause the users to get in a confused state rather quick. Does anybody know how to stop the volume from showing on the desktop and just mount as requested????

Cheers
Dan



[ Reply to This | # ]