Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the 'Avoid the spinning 'wait' cursor after location switch' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Avoid the spinning 'wait' cursor after location switch
Authored by: eriklager on Dec 12, '06 08:54:03AM

What about disconnecting from (i.e. unmounting or "ejecting") any connected network drives (shares) before leaving work? Because I don't think you'll get the spinning cursor unless you have some remote filesystems mounted that become inaccessible.



[ Reply to This | # ]
Avoid the spinning 'wait' cursor after location switch
Authored by: styrafome on Dec 12, '06 01:14:32PM

That used to be one of the absolute stupidest things about Mac OS X, but Apple seems to have fixed it. On my 10.4.8 Powerbook, if I forget to disconnect my home server before closing the lid, the next time I wake it, the Finder will put up a little alert palette saying it can't connect and it has a little Disconnect button that causes no harm if you click it. If you leave the alert up, you can keep using the machine, although you can't do anything in the Finder until you connect the volume or click the Disconnect button. It's [i]much[/i] improved over the debilitating spinwheel we used to get.



[ Reply to This | # ]
Avoid the spinning 'wait' cursor after location switch
Authored by: hamarkus on Dec 12, '06 04:59:37PM

But do not try to eject that volume during these first few seconds before the disconnect message pops up. You seriously confuse the system.



[ Reply to This | # ]
Avoid the spinning 'wait' cursor after location switch
Authored by: Durandal on Dec 13, '06 07:41:14PM
What about disconnecting from (i.e. unmounting or "ejecting") any connected network drives (shares) before leaving work? Because I don't think you'll get the spinning cursor unless you have some remote filesystems mounted that become inaccessible.
Disconnecting your network shares does not really touch automount, though. If your office has networked Library and Applications folders, then automount will still want to look for them, and that can end up beachballing. Switching to the NULL location should tell automount that those resources are going away.

---
Damien Sorresso

[ Reply to This | # ]