Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the 'Fast User Switch while logging out of prior account' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Fast User Switch while logging out of prior account
Authored by: chris_on_hints on Aug 25, '06 02:14:42PM

some people are asking "why log out?"

well, if I want to shut down or restart - and there are other users logged in, i want to log out of my current account, log into the other user and save their files before logging out of their account.

on my desktop machine, i use an admin account and a general day-to-day user account, so this is hint is going to be really useful.

On the dialogue box which appears when you try to restart / shutdown when other users are logged in, you have an option to just kill the other users, or do a fast user switch. it always bugs me that doing the fast user switch leaves you current account logged in. should report this as a bug to apple, really.



[ Reply to This | # ]
Fast User Switch while logging out of prior account
Authored by: skrawcke on Aug 25, '06 03:26:54PM

Why don't you go into the security system preferences and put a check into the "Log out after X minutes of inactivity" and it will log you out automatically.



[ Reply to This | # ]
Fast User Switch while logging out of prior account
Authored by: bugmenot on Aug 25, '06 11:02:23PM
well, if I want to shut down or restart - and there are other users logged in, i want to log out of my current account, log into the other user and save their files before logging out of their account.
That's why I always shutdown with
sudo shutdown -h now

and researt with
sudo shutdown -r now

from Terminal.app (give your login password when it asks - I suppose you need to be an administrator of the machine).

[ Reply to This | # ]

Fast User Switch while logging out of prior account
Authored by: DavidRavenMoon on Aug 26, '06 04:04:12PM

Just choosing shut down when other users are logged in will ask for your password, and then kill the other users and shut down.

It's a lot less typing then in the terminal...

But either way if the users have any open unsaved documents, you just made them loose their work.

---
G4/Digital Audio/1GHz, 1 GB, Mac OS X 10.4.7 • www.david-schwab.com



[ Reply to This | # ]