Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the 'Reduce the size of saved Illustrator files' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Reduce the size of saved Illustrator files
Authored by: UberFu on Feb 14, '06 09:09:03PM

[robg adds: I don't have Illustrator to test this with, so I asked a friend about it. He confirmed that it works, but that you also then lose the previews normally associated with these files. Without previews, placement in another application (such as InDesign) is quite difficult, as you can't see what you're placing. Apparently, you'll see a warning to this effect if you save with everything hidden.]

Yes - this is true - if you typically only look at the thumbnails of a file and don't pay any attention to file names_ Thumbnails/ Previews of any file [graphics or otherwise] can change or revert to generic icons depending on various factors like system or software crashes and power failures_ If you delete out the DS Store files in a Folder or Directory_ Repairing Permissions or resetting the PR-RAM on reboot or booting to a repair disk [the system disc or Norton for example] and running repairs - any of these can change or modify a particular preference setting that kills the link to the hidden icon file or deletes it out altogether_

As a designer - I love Icon View and tools such as Adobe's Bridge - I tend to also pay attention to File names and typically save out revision numbers for various versions of a project - so I pay attention to these as well_ Another thing that helps is project organization itself_

Aside from the above - if you turn on the Preview Function [can't remember the exact name - not at my computer] - but the option is in the View settings in the Finder <Apple-J> or like I mentioned Adobe Bridge above_ By default it will actually generate a thumbnail view that is scalable to a certain extent when you navigate to any given Folder_ And if files have been added or moved or modified since you last navigated to that Folder - they will regenerate the next time you navigate into that Folder_



[ Reply to This | # ]