Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the 'Use pictures stored anywhere with iPhoto6' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Use pictures stored anywhere with iPhoto6
Authored by: n8gray on Jan 19, '06 04:17:43PM

I've got a pretty big iPhoto library and I'd like to offload a big chunk of it to an external drive, but I don't quite understand if/how this can work. If I choose not to copy files to my library when importing them into iPhoto, what happens when I import from my camera? Am I correct in assuming that choosing this option effectively means I need to use another application (Image Capture perhaps) to import from the camera and organize my photos in the filesystem? If so, does iPhoto automatically stay up-to-date with photos in imported directories or do I have to manually import anything new into iPhoto in a second step?

I would run some tests to figure this out but I don't have my camera handy.

Thanks,
-n8



[ Reply to This | # ]
Use pictures stored anywhere with iPhoto6
Authored by: sjk on Jan 24, '06 08:42:22PM

Good question. I'd test it, too, but I don't have iPhoto 6 handy (i.e. at all, yet). My hunch is that if importing is enabled with the new "Copy files to iPhoto Library" preference unset then it would copy them into the internal library folder hierarchy as if the pref were unset. iTunes works like that when its "Copy file to iTunes Music folder when adding to library" is set and content is added via iTMS or Podcasts.

I'm also wondering if they'd be any unforeseeable negative side effects of toggling the new iPhoto 6 "Copy ..." preference while managing a single library. For example, I might like to normally have it set (pre-iPhoto 6 behavior), then unset it to add more content to the library without copying it (e.g. random stuff under ~/Pictures), then set it again.

Derrick Story has a recent article on his O'Reilly weblog(?) explaining what happened when editing images in iPhoto 6 when the "Copy ..." preference is unset. Basically, it creates a copy under the internal library hierarchy.



[ Reply to This | # ]