Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the 'Quicker method' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Quicker method
Authored by: james_sorenson on Apr 03, '02 01:19:51PM

For whatever reason, my network volumes persist when I log-out and log-in as the same user, as well. I guess Apple thought it to be more convenient.

However, there is a better way:
(1) Activate the Finder
(2) Press Cmd ~
(3) In the "Go to the folder" box, type "/volumes"
(4) You will see the mounted Public iDisk/ in the new window.

Interesting note: as soon as you open the iDisk contents, you will see the Finder finally update itself and add the iDisk to any other Finder windows you select.



[ Reply to This | # ]
Quicker method
Authored by: drjones on Apr 03, '02 01:53:25PM

This is no doubt part of the strength and versatility of our *nix underpinnings. I was surprised to find that after accessing some shared files to do some maintenance on a user's machine, I came back to see the login screen. For many of us, it's taking alot longer to get OS 9 out of our mind than it is to get all our apps carbonized!



[ Reply to This | # ]
Quicker method
Authored by: joemang on Apr 04, '02 02:53:44AM

and that will also work if you login to a remote volume on a local machine under somebody else's account. if you log out and log back in to the local machine using the username used to connect to the remote volume (different username locally) before logout...it will reappear on your desktop.



[ Reply to This | # ]