Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the '10.4: Delete burn folders on OS X Server' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
10.4: Delete burn folders on OS X Server
Authored by: gerritdewitt on Oct 01, '05 12:05:56PM
Here's another solution that your users can do client-side if you want to allow them to be able to keep some of their burn folders. (Good cron suggestion for deleting the *.fpbf folders, though!)

1. While logged in as a network user, select the troublesome burn folder and choose Get Info (or show the Inspector window). Check then un-check the Locked check box and close the Info or Inspector window.

2. Now the burn folder can be deleted by dragging it to the Trash.

I think this problem is the result of another one based on how AFP dynamic automounts, such as those that mount home directory share points, are handled by the Mac OS X 10.4.2 client Finder. The "read-only filesystem" attribute remains set for used *.fpbf (burn folders) on network homes, and that results in the -61 error when a user attempts to delete the burn folder from his or her home (or Desktop within his/her home).

I also have another bug documented, which I think is related: when copying files from another AFP share point to a user's network home when logged in as that user on a client, occasionally the client 10.4.2 Finder returns an incorrect "insufficient privileges" error. Please see my Apple post for more details: Gerrit DeWitt, AFP Insufficient Privileges Error - 10.4.2 Finder Bug.

I encourage you all to submit bug reports on the Mac OS X Server Feedback page to let Apple know that these problems need fixing. If you've already submitted a report, thank you!

Sincerely,

Gerrit DeWitt
Apple Certified System Administrator
AuburnMac, Apple Consultants Network

[ Reply to This | # ]