Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the '10.4: Better widget management and security in 10.4.2' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
10.4: Better widget management and security in 10.4.2
Authored by: mm2270 on Jul 25, '05 11:58:46AM

One other new tidbit I ran across that bears mentioning, is that if you download a widget with the same name, like an updated version of a widget you have installed, it alerts you to the fact that you are going to overwrite an existing widget. It even tells you that the current widget will be closed out (if it's active on your dashboard) before installing the new one.

Considering all the concerns over the ability of a widget to override an existing one prior to 10.4.2, this is also a nice touch. You have to explicitly allow it to overwrite an existing widget.



[ Reply to This | # ]
10.4: Better widget management and security in 10.4.2
Authored by: nunofgs on Jul 25, '05 01:06:59PM

I find it curious that when you install a new widget, it opens it in dashboard and asks if you want to keep or delete the widget. If you get out of dashboard and come back, it automatically kept the widget. You would think it would discard by default or keep asking if you want to keep or delete, but no...



[ Reply to This | # ]