Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the 'How to deathorize all iTunes-authorized machines' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
How to deathorize all iTunes-authorized machines
Authored by: djones on Jun 28, '05 11:57:02AM

You can only use this feature once per year. The button will not show up if you have fewer than 5 authorized computers or if you have deauthorized all within the past year.

Anytime your hardware changes (adding RAM, changing a video card, etc.) it triggers as a "new machine" and can use up an authorization. I was sitting at 4, but didn't have 1 of the computers. And 3 of the "computers" were one machine, because I never knew I had to deauthorize the computer before putting in upgrades. Add some RAM or change your hardware config in a machine to artificially max out to 5 machines like I did, then you can freely deauthorize all.



[ Reply to This | # ]
How to deathorize all iTunes-authorized machines
Authored by: slb on Jun 28, '05 02:25:18PM

Not true! The only change to hardware that will trigger as a "new Mac" is the logic board - this is where the serial number is embedded.
You can change the RAM, video card, hard drive all you like with no ill-effects.

SB



[ Reply to This | # ]
How to deathorize all iTunes-authorized machines
Authored by: djones on Jun 28, '05 05:10:32PM
Sorry, man, but you're wrong. I only own one computer, and had 4 authorizations used up, 3 on this machine, and 1 on a friend's laptop. 1st Authorization: Bought G5. 2nd Authorization: Added 2GB of RAM, approx 1 yr later 3rd Authorization: Changed video card, about 2 weeks after the RAM upgrade 4th Authorization: Listening to songs from my iPod connected to my friend's PowerBook. My personal experience is confirmed by the Knowledge Base article a couple of us linked below, specifically this text:
Make sure you deauthorize your computer before you upgrade your RAM, hard disk or other system components. If you do not deauthorize your computer before you upgrade these components, one computer may use multiple authorizations. If you find you have reached 5 authorizations due to system upgrades, you can reset your authorization count by clicking Deauthorize All in the Account Information screen.


[ Reply to This | # ]
How to deathorize all iTunes-authorized machines
Authored by: slb on Jun 28, '05 06:26:27PM

Well, I upgrade systems daily, and on this very one, I put in new RAM and a bigger hard drive yesterday - no more authorizations were used.
Never seen that ever - and I support ~ 125 Macs here which are all new (within on year)
I can't believe that would do anything, but if you say so, I have no choice but to believe it happened to you.

SB



[ Reply to This | # ]