Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the 'Space-Time saving techniques - No need to convert the disk image, just lock it and re-mount' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Space-Time saving techniques - No need to convert the disk image, just lock it and re-mount
Authored by: VRic on Jun 13, '05 08:27:43AM

iPhoto will consider any read-only volume as an iPhoto CD/DVD if its root level contains an iPhoto library folder and an XML file describing it as explained previously.

So you can save a lot of time and disk space by avoiding unnecessary conversions:

(1) you don't need a read-only image, just a read-only volume. You can mount any volume read-only if you're CLI-savvy, or you can lock the disk image file in the Finder's Info window, which is much easier (you'll need tu unmount/remount the image for the change to take effect)

This will probably skip some disk image and library duplications.

(2) using a normal writable disk image as the master will allow you to test and refine your setup easily (without copying the library again if all you want to change is its name in the XML file for example). Once the image is created, you can edit the XML file, lock/remount the image to test it in iPhoto, then unlock/remount to edit it again, etc.

(3) you won't have to bother what the final size will be if you use a "sparseimage" disk image, which will start small and only grow as needed while copying the library

(4) you can even edit the library itself in iPhoto (to load that library, hold the [Option] key while launching iPhoto: it will ask you to locate a library, select the one on the writable disk image, you can then edit it in place)

(5) you can also easily save space by trashing the "Originals" folders in each roll's folder in case you must reclaim a few MB to let it fit on a CD (iPhoto libraries keep duplicate "originals" of any file you edited: if you're confident you won't need to undo changes, you can remove those from the disk image, the resulting library will work the same).



[ Reply to This | # ]