Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the 'Sounds a bit drastic' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Sounds a bit drastic
Authored by: The_Clicker on Mar 21, '05 07:35:01AM
I'll have to go along with Gidds. Often, when I'm having the Finder behaving in a funky manner, I find that deleting the invisible .DS_Store file and relaunching the Finder solves the problem.

From a GroupLogic page:

"...comments are kept in a directory meta-information file called .DS_Store. When OS X moves or copies files around, the .DS_Store files in the appropriate folders are modified so that the comments move along with the file, even though they aren't stored in the meta-information of the file itself. ...Finally, the .DS_Store file was not designed for multi-user use. If multiple users modify the file simultaneously data loss can occur. Although this happens with comments it is more often seen with the default view and the positioning of icons for a folder [emphasis mine]. The problem is that the last person who writes to the .DS_Store will have their changes overwrite some or all of the changes other people have made. This is even further complicated by the fact that the .DS_Store files are written lazily. - that is, until the volume is unmounted the Finder will not try to put add its changes to the .DS_Store."

[ Reply to This | # ]