Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the 'Prevent data loss when deleting unused Mail accounts' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Prevent data loss when deleting unused Mail accounts
Authored by: bhippel on Oct 07, '04 12:46:16PM

I had this problem too, with an old POP account, when I started using my IMAP .Mac account as my primary. With POP accounts, if you delete the account, the messages disappear...but if you re-enable the account, or re-create the account, and point it to the same mailbox under ~/Library/Mail, the messages will RE-appear. I was able to recover my messages, and left the account active (but turned off automatic checking), and never thought of just moving them to my new account. I just did that and was able to safely delete my account.



[ Reply to This | # ]
Prevent data loss when deleting unused Mail accounts
Authored by: daria on Jan 15, '05 12:36:29PM

How did you get your mail back?
I switched the settings on my mail account from POP to IMAP by creating a new mailbox and deleting the old one. All my old mail did get deleted and the message box did say that all data stored would not be affected before I clicked OK. To the person that got their mail back by re-creating the account, was the email still on your mail server? Because I tried re-creating my mailbox and all I got was double copies of the mail that was left online. (This could be because I didn't get rid of an old account, but just changed the settings on the one I was using.) If you did manage to get mail back that was only on your computer and nowhere online, I am curious as to how you did it.

---
I'm blue.



[ Reply to This | # ]