Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the 'More likely explanation' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
More likely explanation
Authored by: babbage on Dec 15, '03 05:07:02PM

Interesting observation -- makes sense. Still, there's no reason it couldn't be a combination of both purging stray caches & overwriting regions of the disc as well: it seems to me that a "secure" delete routine should also make an attempt to scrub the disc contents, as there are forensics techniques for recovering the contents of deleted files.

---
--
DO NOT LEAVE IT IS NOT REAL

[ Reply to This | # ]

More likely explanation
Authored by: wpdv on Dec 17, '03 11:51:58AM

What I have read about Secure Empty Trash, is that it completely overwrites all of the data that you have in the trash, with 0's and 1's. I think I read this in Apple's help area. I hope this helps. :)



[ Reply to This | # ]
More likely explanation
Authored by: wpdv on Dec 17, '03 11:57:37AM

I just copied this from Mac Help:

Deleting files and folders

You can delete files and folders on your disk that you no longer need.

1. Drag the items to the Trash (at the end of the Dock).

Any files or folders you drag to the Trash remain there until you empty the Trash. If you change your mind about something, you can still retrieve it from the Trash if you haven't emptied it yet. Click the Trash icon to open the Trash window, then drag items back to your home folder.

2. Choose Finder > Empty Trash.

Even after emptying the trash, deleted files may still be recovered by using special data-recovery software. To delete files so that they cannot be recovered, choose Finder > Secure Empty Trash. Files deleted in this way are completely overwritten by meaningless data. This may take some time, depending on the size of the file. You may want to use Secure Empty Trash if you sell or give away your computer.

If an item is locked, you cannot put it in the Trash. Select the item and choose File > Get Info, then deselect the Locked checkbox in the General pane. If you do not own the item, you may need to provide an administrator's name and password to put the item in the Trash.

Press the Option key when you choose Empty Trash to prevent the warning message from appearing. You can also turn off the warning in the Advanced pane of Finder preferences.



[ Reply to This | # ]