Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the 'Move the boot drive from an old Mac to a new Mac' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Move the boot drive from an old Mac to a new Mac
Authored by: MtnBiker on May 05, '03 07:14:22PM
I appreciate all the comments.

For the record it was a G4 400 AGP and I put the drive in the front bay. So it went from ATA-66 to ATA-66 (dumb luck).

I was afraid that CCC would cause me problems which is why I used Software Restore. The risk was losing what I had on the old drive, but at least I had the new drive where I could start over. The problem for me is that I only do this every three or four years, so it's hard to be very experienced and I couldn't find anything on the web and I did post in a place or two (not admittedly in this forum group). I'll save the comments posted here for the future.

For the reason mustang dvs states, I will move the system to the new drive. I'll look at CCC for moving my system to the new drive. From what I read here, I should be booted from the old drive. When I use CCC am I writing over the system stuff on the new drive?

The following instruction in CCC confuses me:
Delete directories before overwriting Before copying a directory from the source to the target, remove that item, if it exists, from the target. This provides a clean copy of the item on the target. Items at the root level of the target that are not at the root level of the source will not be deleted. If this option is not selected, the contents of the target directory (again, if it exists) will be merged with those of the source directory. However, items from the source will overwrite items with the same name and path on the target.

I'm afraid I don't see the difference in using the option or not, except that one is certain that if the file exists on both it is erased on the target drive. it says the files will be merged though, does that mean if I don't select the option new things in a file will be merged into the file from the source? This could get messy if something is commented out on the source, it might appear uncommented in the merged file.

Thanks again for all the comments.

---
Hermosa Beach, CA USA

[ Reply to This | # ]