Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Well... | 26 comments | Create New Account
Click here to return to the 'Well...' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Well...
Authored by: Ezekiel on Nov 11, '02 07:17:37PM

What everyone who's commented so far and thought this was a stupid hint has completely ignored, are those who admin computers in public places, like in schools and libraries, and so on. Or perhaps in net cafes. You don't want anyone poking around the system in those situations, and it's better to leave out the option of using single user mode to save from reintallation, than having to reinstall all the time anyway because stupid people who have access to the computer might enter single user mode and mess around with the system.

I think this was a great hint. I won't be using it myself, since I don't have the need for it, but were I the computer "janitor" of, say, a school, then I'd thank my lucky star for hints like these.



[ Reply to This | # ]
Useful for Open Labs, NetCafé's, etc.
Authored by: osxpounder on May 30, '03 11:55:06AM

I'm grateful for this hint, and I intend to share it with those colleagues of mine who administer rooms full of Macs--they would surely want to prevent a visitor from booting into single-user mode, and they use disk images to setup the Macs in the first place, so a hosed system isn't the same sort of problem for them that it would be for me, an ordinary desktop user.

Glad to see it here!

---
--
osxpounder



[ Reply to This | # ]