Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the 'Prepare iOS device to give or sell' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Prepare iOS device to give or sell
Authored by: richard2 on Mar 30, '13 08:09:48PM

Before I sold my iPhone 3GS last year, I logged out from my Apple ID account and erased my data from the device using the same method described in this article. However, when I chose to enable two-factor authentication for my Apple ID account last week, I was surprised and somewhat concerned when I saw that my old iPhone was included in the list from which I was asked to select my trusted devices. I'd expected the erasure process to completely unlink the iPhone from my Apple ID.

To break whatever remaining link connected my old iPhone to my Apple ID, I had to open the Find My iPhone application on my current iPhone, swipe the entry for my old iPhone, and then press "remove".

When I next sell an iPhone or iPad, I'll also disable Find My iPhone in addition to logging out of my Apple ID account, erasing my data from the device, and removing the device from my Apple Support Profile.



[ Reply to This | # ]