Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the 'Disable automatic application termination in OS X ' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Disable automatic application termination in OS X
Authored by: scottbayes on Aug 02, '12 05:06:33PM

<<An interesting side effect of this user-friendly behaviour is that (at least under Lion 10.7.4) it is impossible to Empty Trash of a document that was opened with an automatically terminated application (for example, Preview). I find I have to manually launch Preview and then manually quit Preview before I can empty the trash of a document that had been opened with the automatically terminated Preview. So very user-friendly! Such a coherent user experience!>>

Might be because it uses lock files and hasn't closed them at automatic termination in order to be "user-friendly" and restore the app to it previous state when it opens again. Starting the app and quitting it would remove the lock file.

One step forward, two back, the usual since Lion.



[ Reply to This | # ]