Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the 'Disable Autosave and Enable "Save As..."' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Disable Autosave and Enable "Save As..."
Authored by: sss67 on Jul 10, '12 02:22:19AM

Hello,

I made some tests with Mountain Lion and here is what I noticed.

- The "system wide" option only asks if you want to save or not when you close a document. There are many scenarios where this feature is totally useless. E.g., you open an image with Preview, you modify it, you capy and paste it in your document. For some reason Preview crashes but you do not notice it. Your image was saved and overwritten. So Versions is still active. The question is: "what happens if I am working on a volume that does not support version?" Is the change permanent? Can I retrieve my original image?

- The Save As menu item comes back if you press the Option key while showing the File menu. That's good.

- The ApplePersistence parameter is very useful because it totally disable the autosave and versions crap. The problem is that I cannot get the Save As menu item anymore, unless I re-enable Autosave and Versions.

Did anybody make additional tests.



[ Reply to This | # ]