Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the 'Disable Autosave and Enable "Save As..."' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Disable Autosave and Enable "Save As..."
Authored by: gteague on Jun 18, '12 05:00:57PM

i don't understand the lack of understanding of the 'save-as' workflow. i open an original image file in preview. when i open it, i don't know exactly what i want to do with it, so i didn't make a copy beforehand. now i decide to make an edit to it and save that as a new file. where is my command? it's gone. export bloats the file size up to 4x. god knows what duplicate does, which version does it duplicate? what does it help to go back to the original version? i want a new file. if i wanted the original i'd just exit from preview and start over. but now there's god knows how much space i've just used because the system is saving versions and crap underneath me. where does it put this and how do i clean it up? no, either the folks who don't mind the removal of 'save-as' have a completely different workflow or computing philosophy than i do (and i do admit i cut my teeth in cp/m and dos where i had to manage my own files) or don't work on a 64gb ssd drive perhaps or have terrabyte raid arrays. what am i missing in my heated rant at apple for removing this command when i don't see why it can't co-exist with the new commands if they would give me the option of turning autosave or versioning off? it will be hard to convince me this wasn't as idiotic and harebrained a move as removing the indicator lights so i now can't tell when my mac is asleep. and yes, i ranted at apple for not having activity lights on their drives back long ago--there is no excuse in the world for not having those indicator, then or today.

---
Watch out where the huskies go--don't you eat that yellow snow. F. Zappa



[ Reply to This | # ]