Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the 'Manually backup and restore a User Home Folder' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Manually backup and restore a User Home Folder
Authored by: Aaron Wyatt on Apr 05, '11 01:55:48PM

Deleting the account does not preserve ownership and permissions, as this method does. When deleting/archiving an account you're removing the user and all associated information, so the system changes the permissions to be accessible by other (admin) users.



[ Reply to This | # ]
Manually backup and restore a User Home Folder
Authored by: drudus on Apr 05, '11 02:21:23PM

Why would you want to preserve ACL's & ownership? The OS will restore the correct ownership after the new user is created on the new system.

Don't ACL's use the UUID of the account & not the user ID? So when you make the new account the UUID's no longer match? Right click the account in System Prefs & select Advanced options…

Anyway, if it works for you, great.



[ Reply to This | # ]
Manually backup and restore a User Home Folder
Authored by: Unsoluble on Apr 05, '11 07:59:36PM

Huh. The right-click-user-to-see-Advanced-Options bit should be a hint unto itself -- never knew about that! :)



[ Reply to This | # ]
Manually backup and restore a User Home Folder
Authored by: everkleer80 on Apr 07, '11 09:18:20AM

Neat! Neither did I! Now I'm going to have to try right clicking in all such lists!



[ Reply to This | # ]