Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the 'Yes, worry' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Yes, worry
Authored by: Angostura on Sep 17, '02 03:02:34AM

Yes, I know its archived off into the previous systems folder. The trouble is that other people may fall into the same trap as me.

Not realising that Apple has decided that a seemingly arbitrary data folder should be considered part of the system.

When you install a new system should you have check all your data folders to make sure that Apple hasn't decided to archive it off?

No. In fact what I did was check carefully that my new system was working then delete the backup. It wasn't until several days later that I needed a document in /Users/Shared and found that it had gone.

Chris



[ Reply to This | # ]