Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the 'Not to worry. . .' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Not to worry. . .
Authored by: avonterr on Sep 16, '02 12:57:04PM

The /Users/Shared folder is retained in the Previous Systems folder, as are old versions of apps, the old system folder, etc.



[ Reply to This | # ]
Yes, worry
Authored by: Angostura on Sep 17, '02 03:02:34AM

Yes, I know its archived off into the previous systems folder. The trouble is that other people may fall into the same trap as me.

Not realising that Apple has decided that a seemingly arbitrary data folder should be considered part of the system.

When you install a new system should you have check all your data folders to make sure that Apple hasn't decided to archive it off?

No. In fact what I did was check carefully that my new system was working then delete the backup. It wasn't until several days later that I needed a document in /Users/Shared and found that it had gone.

Chris



[ Reply to This | # ]