Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the '10.6: Let Time Machine backup File Vault while logged in ' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
10.6: Let Time Machine backup File Vault while logged in
Authored by: jberringer on Jan 30, '10 12:27:11PM

There's a downside to this hint, unfortunately. When you log out Time Machine will still try to back up your encrypted FileVault unless you manually cancel it. And if you stay logged in always there's not much point in using FV since, so long as you are logged in, your home directory is accessible.

Also, if you do log out and cancel the backup, TM will still back up the FV disk image if you log in as anybody else or someone else logs into the machine (guest or otherwise).

Cool hint but marginally useful since it'll eat disk at twice the rate.

Edited on Jan 30, '10 12:28:17PM by jberringer



[ Reply to This | # ]
10.6: Let Time Machine backup File Vault while logged in
Authored by: Solarusdude on Feb 15, '10 06:50:37PM

Do you know if there's a way to exclude Time Machine from backing up the user sparsebundle file, but still back up the home folder unencrypted while the user is logged in? I would really like this trick to work without having TM spending a half hour backing up a 20GB sparse file.



[ Reply to This | # ]
10.6: Let Time Machine backup File Vault while logged in
Authored by: humpalumpa on Feb 17, '10 05:32:08AM
Yes. Simply add the sparsebundle to the exluding list.
You have to log out of your FV-user and use another account to do so.

Open with PropertyEditor.app:
/Library/Preferences/com.apple.TimeMachine.plist
(Note: File is in the *global* library folder, not your own)

Add the path to the sparseimage/sparsebundle as a new item to the "ExcludeByPath" Dictionary. (Do not use the "SkipPaths" dict, this has a slightly different purpose)
Generally, the FV Image resides inside the users home folder, named by following this scheme:
.${USER}.sparsebundle
or (depending on OS version and your config)
.${USER}.sparseimage
You don't have permissions to save the file back in place, so save it to your Desktop (preserving the name) first. Close the App and use Terminal to kick the file into the right place:
sudo sh -c "cat ${HOME}/Desktop/com.apple.TimeMachine.plist  >  \
  /Library/Preferences/com.apple.TimeMachine.plist";
Reboot now. Done.

[ Reply to This | # ]