Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the '10.6: automatic re-associate Time Machine after logic board changes' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
10.6: automatic re-associate Time Machine after logic board changes
Authored by: palahala on Dec 19, '09 06:57:52AM

Indeed, only today I found a post with a screenshot at blog.gerrior.com, after I read about it on Super User. The exact wording, for the search engines:

Would you like to reuse the backup [..] with this computer?

The backup was created on a different computer. If you reuse this backup it can no longer be used by the original computer.

[Do Not Backup Now] [Create New Backup] [Reuse Backup]

I hope Apple will make it a bit more clear that "reuse" implies "keep the history" rather than, for example, "erase the old backup and use all available space for the new Mac".

Edited on Dec 19, '09 07:00:32AM by palahala


[ Reply to This | # ]