Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the 'Even if this hint worked...' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Even if this hint worked...
Authored by: mantrid on Dec 14, '09 07:38:44AM
Now I know that selecting the default application for files changes their mtime. This means that my backups will be much larger after I changed my mp3 player software. How silly is this?
The hint boils down to this: modifying a file updates its modification time.

Changing your mp3 software should not make your backups significantly bigger unless you are changing each individual file, which really would be silly. If you were to use the "Change All…" setting to change the default application, only the first file and the launch services prefs file would be updated and need to be backed up.
Edited on Dec 14, '09 07:39:20AM by mantrid


[ Reply to This | # ]
Even if this hint worked...
Authored by: cran on Dec 14, '09 02:37:44PM

Thanks for clarifying. But I still don't understand: how does selecting the default application change my file? I'd understand if it changed the ctime (which it does). I'd understand if it changed the mtime (because it's just the way it is). But why would it change my files contents?



[ Reply to This | # ]