Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the 'Change the user on networked Time Machine backups - useful after all?' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Change the user on networked Time Machine backups - useful after all?
Authored by: kopf on Dec 12, '09 07:09:02PM

If I understand the hint correctly, it's not about *local* access to the Time Machine backup on the Mac being backed up (MacBook Pro?, I'll call it MacB). It is about the remote volume hosted on the other (Mac Pro?, I'll call it MacS). So chill with your derogatory ratings ;-)

In order for Time Machine to mount the sparsebundle on MacB, it needs an account on MacS and its password (saved in the local MacB keychain). If that is set up with one of the regular users on MacS, changing that account's password on MacS will break the ability to mount "Backup of MacB" on MacB's desktop. I'm not sure if it will just fail or ask for the password again (which the MacB user may not know).

The hint therefore is about changing access to the sparsebundle using a generic "backup" user on MacS whose password can stay unchanged, given the limited access rights.

(I hope I got that right - phew ...)



[ Reply to This | # ]