Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the 'Even if this hint worked...' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Even if this hint worked...
Authored by: lincd0 on Dec 11, '09 11:35:19AM

... how would it be better than opening a Terminal window, typing 'touch ', dragging the files to be modified into the window, and hitting the Return key?



[ Reply to This | # ]
Even if this hint worked...
Authored by: cran on Dec 13, '09 11:04:18PM

come on. This hint is about doing something with the finder. Not about the Finder being better than the command line. Or vice versa.

Besides this you could ask "why not do this in the terminal" for a lot of hints...

Btw. here's a reason for not doing it on the command line: If you want to do it to a lot of files (so they won't fit into ARG_MAX when being supplied on the command line), and you don't want to fiddle with find/xargs/zargs/..

On the other hand. Thanks for this hint. Now I know that selecting the default application for files changes their mtime. This means that my backups will be much larger after I changed my mp3 player software. How silly is this? :)



[ Reply to This | # ]
Even if this hint worked...
Authored by: mantrid on Dec 14, '09 07:38:44AM
Now I know that selecting the default application for files changes their mtime. This means that my backups will be much larger after I changed my mp3 player software. How silly is this?
The hint boils down to this: modifying a file updates its modification time.

Changing your mp3 software should not make your backups significantly bigger unless you are changing each individual file, which really would be silly. If you were to use the "Change All…" setting to change the default application, only the first file and the launch services prefs file would be updated and need to be backed up.
Edited on Dec 14, '09 07:39:20AM by mantrid


[ Reply to This | # ]
Even if this hint worked...
Authored by: cran on Dec 14, '09 02:37:44PM

Thanks for clarifying. But I still don't understand: how does selecting the default application change my file? I'd understand if it changed the ctime (which it does). I'd understand if it changed the mtime (because it's just the way it is). But why would it change my files contents?



[ Reply to This | # ]