Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the 'Change the user on networked Time Machine backups' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Change the user on networked Time Machine backups
Authored by: mdzorn on Dec 10, '09 10:16:51AM

I may have missed something in your post, but on my computers Time Machine backups are not tied to a particular user. The top directory is owned by the System and it backs up everything on your disk (excluding files in your exclude list of course).

So I don't understand why you need to add a "backup" user. Access to your user account is tied to your userid, not your password. A file owned by <user> is still owned and available to <user> after a password change. Unix permissions (which underlie MacOSX) remember userid and groupid, not the passwd.



[ Reply to This | # ]
This is my understanding as well
Authored by: hamarkus on Dec 10, '09 12:58:50PM

UID is what counts. Which incidentally can cause problems if for some reason the UID of your account changes (when you move to a new computer this can happen if you don't watch out).

Edited on Dec 10, '09 01:00:36PM by hamarkus



[ Reply to This | # ]
Change the user on networked Time Machine backups - useful after all?
Authored by: kopf on Dec 12, '09 07:09:02PM

If I understand the hint correctly, it's not about *local* access to the Time Machine backup on the Mac being backed up (MacBook Pro?, I'll call it MacB). It is about the remote volume hosted on the other (Mac Pro?, I'll call it MacS). So chill with your derogatory ratings ;-)

In order for Time Machine to mount the sparsebundle on MacB, it needs an account on MacS and its password (saved in the local MacB keychain). If that is set up with one of the regular users on MacS, changing that account's password on MacS will break the ability to mount "Backup of MacB" on MacB's desktop. I'm not sure if it will just fail or ask for the password again (which the MacB user may not know).

The hint therefore is about changing access to the sparsebundle using a generic "backup" user on MacS whose password can stay unchanged, given the limited access rights.

(I hope I got that right - phew ...)



[ Reply to This | # ]