Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the '10.5: Repair Time Machine after logic board changes' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
10.5: Repair Time Machine after logic board changes
Authored by: gopes on Nov 29, '09 10:00:58AM

To all those attempting to use this hint under Snow Leopard: a previous poster was correct, this hint is no longer needed in Snow Leopard. I got tripped up by the lack of that ACL utility as well, and eventually just went to TM prefs and turned it on (I was going to just forget the history). It automatically gave me the option of reusing the old backupówarning that the old computer will no longer be able to use itócreating a new backup, and I'm pretty sure the third option was cancel, of course. HTH, this whole thread helped me.



[ Reply to This | # ]
10.6: automatic re-associate Time Machine after logic board changes
Authored by: palahala on Dec 19, '09 06:57:52AM

Indeed, only today I found a post with a screenshot at blog.gerrior.com, after I read about it on Super User. The exact wording, for the search engines:

Would you like to reuse the backup [..] with this computer?

The backup was created on a different computer. If you reuse this backup it can no longer be used by the original computer.

[Do Not Backup Now] [Create New Backup] [Reuse Backup]

I hope Apple will make it a bit more clear that "reuse" implies "keep the history" rather than, for example, "erase the old backup and use all available space for the new Mac".

Edited on Dec 19, '09 07:00:32AM by palahala


[ Reply to This | # ]