Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the '10.5: Create an updated OS X install on a to-be-sold Mac' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
10.5: Create an updated OS X install on a to-be-sold Mac
Authored by: las_vegas on Aug 09, '09 06:22:39PM

Nothing of any previous accounts still exists after erasing the drive. Of course, bits and pieces may be grokked with a lot of effort scanning the free space. Since I never, ever store critical personal information in an un-encoded format, I've never worried about such things. If you're concerned about data remaining on the Mac from a previous install, Use the feature "Erase Free Space" from Disk Tools before installing OS X in the first step.

Your little step of rm'ing files would have no effect whatsoever in preventing that data from being accessed since it only removes the directory entry and that was done when the drive was erased.



[ Reply to This | # ]