Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the 'Secure delete' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Secure delete
Authored by: scooby509 on Jul 26, '09 01:31:28PM

No, this is not the same as secure delete. ("Secure delete" means adding an overwrite step before deletion.)

Add the -P option to the rm command to force rm to overwrite files before deletion. But once you're doing that, you gain no speed advantage over having the Finder do it.



[ Reply to This | # ]