Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the 'Allow only essential services' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Allow only essential services
Authored by: Rainy Day on Feb 01, '09 05:00:09PM
The "Allow only essential services" option really locks down the computer and blocks most services, like file sharing, remote access, screen sharing, iChat, etc. Although it will allow the Mac to announce itself via Bonjour, nobody will be able to connect to shared folders, for example. It can also prevent outbound services like TFTP (which can be used to upload files to routers for firmware flashing).

This option may be too restrictive for many applications.

[ Reply to This | # ]