Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!


Click here to return to the '10.5: How to reset Leopard back to the Setup Assistant' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
10.5: How to reset Leopard back to the Setup Assistant
Authored by: frogmella on Jul 08, '08 01:17:47AM

One thing to add: if you're doing this to put your Mac on eBay (or Freecycle if it's really that old!), you probably want to do this without re-running the assistant so that the new owner can run it for herself. In which case, instead of the final
exit
use the following instead:
shutdown -h now



[ Reply to This | # ]
10.5: How to reset Leopard back to the Setup Assistant
Authored by: skydiverx on Sep 26, '08 12:10:22PM

Also, if you want to be thorough, I would erase the system log files.

Here's the steps taken from all the suggestions plus erasing the log files.

--------------------------------------------

1:
Boot mac into single user mode by holding down Command-S at startup.

2:
$ mount -uw /
$ rm -R /Library/Preferences/
$ rm -R /Users/USERNAME/
$ rm -R /Library/Logs
$ rm -R /var/log

3:
$ /bin/launchctl load /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.DirectoryServices.plist &
$ dscl . -delete /Users/USERNAME
$ dscl . -delete /Groups/admin GroupMembership USERNAME

4:
$ rm /var/db/.AppleSetupDone

5:
$ shutdown -h now

That's it!



[ Reply to This | # ]
10.5: How to reset Leopard back to the Setup Assistant
Authored by: emilholt on Nov 26, '09 01:35:13AM

This is a really bad idea.
It recursively deletes the /Library/Preferences, /Library/Logs and /var/log directories leaving you with a broken system.
If you want to delete the logfiles you should delete the specific files.



[ Reply to This | # ]