Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!

Prepare iOS device to give or sell iOS devices
I'm giving one of my iPads to someone soon, and a recent TechHive article pointed out the easiest way to prepare an iOS device to give or sell to someone.

Go to General > Reset, then tap on Erase All Content and Settings. If you have a passcode set, you'll need to enter the passcode to continue. An Erase iPad dialog will inform you that this will erase all media and data, and reset all settings; tap on Erase. Another dialog will ask if you're really sure you want to do this. Again, tap on Erase.

The screen will go black with an Apple logo and a progress bar, then you'll see the iOS device's name (iPad, iPhone, iPod touch) and a slider. Slide the slider to begin setting up the iOS device as a new device.

The TechHive article also noted that you can use this process to wipe and restore an iOS device; at one point in the setup process, you'll see a choice to set up the device as a new one, or to restore from an iCloud or iTunes backup.

When the process has completed, you'll have an iOS device with the stock apps and settings.
    •    
  • Currently 2.00 / 5
  You rated: 1 / 5 (8 votes cast)
 
[5,715 views]  

Prepare iOS device to give or sell | 3 comments | Create New Account
Click here to return to the 'Prepare iOS device to give or sell' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Prepare iOS device to give or sell
Authored by: Supp0rtLinux on Mar 29, '13 11:48:24AM

Based on many previous articles found all over the web… its actually best practice to do a few things FIRST. Namely, sign out of all iCloud apps (iMessage, etc). As a follow-up to that, the truly paranoid will logout of all apps, iCloud, Google/Gmail, Dropbox, etc. Doing so helps those services to "forget" your device, etc. After this, then do a factory reset.



[ Reply to This | # ]
Prepare iOS device to give or sell
Authored by: dilvish1984 on Mar 29, '13 12:47:42PM

(never mind, I didn't read the article closely before posting -- oops!)

Edited on Mar 29, '13 12:49:17PM by dilvish1984



[ Reply to This | # ]
Prepare iOS device to give or sell
Authored by: richard2 on Mar 30, '13 08:09:48PM

Before I sold my iPhone 3GS last year, I logged out from my Apple ID account and erased my data from the device using the same method described in this article. However, when I chose to enable two-factor authentication for my Apple ID account last week, I was surprised and somewhat concerned when I saw that my old iPhone was included in the list from which I was asked to select my trusted devices. I'd expected the erasure process to completely unlink the iPhone from my Apple ID.

To break whatever remaining link connected my old iPhone to my Apple ID, I had to open the Find My iPhone application on my current iPhone, swipe the entry for my old iPhone, and then press "remove".

When I next sell an iPhone or iPad, I'll also disable Find My iPhone in addition to logging out of my Apple ID account, erasing my data from the device, and removing the device from my Apple Support Profile.



[ Reply to This | # ]