Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!

10.5: Remove Time Machine from menu bar on clients OS X Server
Well, if you're like me and already have backup solutions running in your Open Directory, you may not want your users using Time Machine, for whatever reasons you may have. In Work Group Manager (WGM), select your groups (or your parent group) and select the Details tab. Then add the following to the details list:
/System/Library/CoreServices/ManagedClient.app
Once you add that in to the Details part of WGM, you can select the menu items and click on the pencil icon to add a string to disable Time Machine from the menu bar. So, click on the pencil icon and a new window should pop up. It should display Once, Often, Always. Select and expand the arrow key on Always, and then click on the New Key button. Select Edit from the drop-box, and name it TimeMachine.menu, then for Type, select boolean, and for Value, select false. Attached is a screen shot. It should look like this when you're done.

The next time your client updates the MCX, it will no longer have Time Machine in the Menu Bar. This is sort of a backwards way of going about things, so I put in a feature request for OS X Server to just manage these things through WGM by a menu or items list. I need to thank Jeff from our Apple mailing list to helped me figure this out.
    •    
  • Currently 2.27 / 5
  You rated: 1 / 5 (11 votes cast)
 
[11,560 views]  

10.5: Remove Time Machine from menu bar on clients | 1 comments | Create New Account
Click here to return to the '10.5: Remove Time Machine from menu bar on clients' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
10.5: Remove Time Machine from menu bar on clients
Authored by: SlaunchaMan on Aug 05, '08 07:46:07AM