Make Gmail automatically delete email after 30 days

May 27, '08 07:30:00AM

Contributed by: mclbruce

This is for people who have a Gmail account, but prefer to get their mail in Mail or Entourage using a POP connection to Gmail. This will keep your Gmail from accumulating online forever. Instead, it will be deleted from Gmail online after 30 days. There are only two steps to this hint:

  1. Use the 'recent' option in your POP email client.
  2. Set up a filter in Gmail that deletes mail that is from your Gmail address.
Step one is tricky and has major consequences. Change your POP client's user id settings from myaccount@gmail.com to recent:myaccount@gmail. When you do this, all of the email from the last 30 days will be received by your email client. When I say all, I mean both sent and received mail, but not mail that is in the trash.

The trick is to make sure "leave mail on server" is not activated in your email client's settings. This causes Gmail to throw the last 30 days of email in the trash! Once it is in the trash, it will be automatically deleted after 30 days. Step two is straightforward but the reasoning is a bit hard to follow.

Go to Gmail on the web and add the following filter: If 'from' is myaccount@gmail.com then 'delete it.' When you specify "delete it," your sent mail will be put in the trash. If you don't do step two, checking your email using POP with the receive: option will give you an extra copy of your sent mail. This filter prevents the online copy of your sent email from being sent back to you.

Consequences:

[robg adds: I haven't tested this one.]

Comments (4)


Mac OS X Hints
http://hints.macworld.com/article.php?story=20080522161511964