Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!

10.5: Disable the 'use this disk?' Time Machine dialog System 10.5
This hint will be useful for those who use an abnormal amount of removable devices on their personal or work computer, or those who deploy 10.5 in a multi-machine environment. When you connect such devices, Time Machine asks if you'd like to use them for backing up. You can disable that warning -- just launch Terminal, and paste this line, then press Return:
defaults write com.apple.TimeMachine DoNotOfferNewDisksForBackup -bool YES
Time Machine will no longer ask to use the devices you connect.

[robg adds: To reverse this, you can repeat the above command with NO at the end instead of YES.]
    •    
  • Currently 1.88 / 5
  You rated: 1 / 5 (8 votes cast)
 
[28,527 views]  

10.5: Disable the 'use this disk?' Time Machine dialog | 5 comments | Create New Account
Click here to return to the '10.5: Disable the 'use this disk?' Time Machine dialog' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
10.5: Disable the 'use this disk?' Time Machine dialog
Authored by: sfemet on Jan 18, '08 10:14:53AM

I've got 6 iMacs I "administer". All have multiple user accounts, some managed, some admin.

Do I need to do this in my admin account only or should I go into each user account and do it?



[ Reply to This | # ]
10.5: Disable the 'use this disk?' Time Machine dialog
Authored by: baltwo on Jan 18, '08 08:08:57PM

Nice find, but more details on where you found the DoNotOfferNewDisksForBackup key would be more enlightening. A search of ADC's site for it comes up empty.

BTW, your command won't work, since the TM plist isn't in ~/Library/Preferences/—at least it isn't on my machine with TM turned off. You need to include the correct path:

defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.TimeMachine DoNotOfferNewDisksForBackup -bool YES



[ Reply to This | # ]
10.5: Disable the 'use this disk?' Time Machine dialog
Authored by: macshome on Jan 20, '08 07:22:11AM
I posted this a few weeks ago on our site.

As with any preference like this I would strongly recommend it be deployed with policy so that you don't need to touch every mac.

---
http://www.afp548.com
Breaking my server to save yours.

[ Reply to This | # ]

10.5: Disable the 'use this disk?' Time Machine dialog
Authored by: robg on Nov 20, '09 06:06:00AM
An anonymous submitter sent this in as a hint; I'm listing it here as an alternative to this hint:
This has to do with Time Machine and presenting the dialogue when a suitable drive is mounted. If a file name ".com.apple.timemachine.donotpresent" is in the root directory of the Hard Drive, then it seems to disable the dialogue.
One issue seems to be that to make this file appear, you have to first connect the drive, which will generate the warning dialog ... and if you say "no," then this value is set anyway (so it won't be asked again for that drive).

-rob.

[ Reply to This | # ]
10.5: Disable the 'use this disk?' Time Machine dialog
Authored by: Crush on Jan 06, '10 09:58:25AM

Does this (original) hint work for 10.6 as well?



[ Reply to This | # ]