Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!

Delete iPhoto duplicate versions in Aperture Apps
iPhoto creates a duplicate image file whenever you make any changes to the master, such as rotate, crop, lighten, etc. Thus, if you make even minor edits to each photo, the size of your library will double. Aperture, on the other hand, modifies the master 'on the fly,' without making a copy.

When you import your iPhoto library into Aperture, both the iPhoto master and the edited duplicate are imported together as a 'stack'. To recover some disk space, here's how to delete all the edited duplicates (which often might be just rotations):

The key bit of needed info is that iPhoto masters are tagged with the keywords iPhoto Original, and the edited versions with iPhoto Edited. First, search your entire Aperture library for the keywords iPhoto Edited. Select all found images, and create a new album from the selection. These images will be stacks containing both the original and edited versions.

Then, select all images in the new album and unstack them. Finally, search within the new album for iPhoto Edited, select all the found images, and delete them. (After unstacking, you can instead delete your masters, if you want, by searching for iPhoto Original and then deleting.)

Back up your Aperture library before doing this, of course. I would also do it right after importing your iPhoto library, if possible, so if something screws up, you can just start over.
    •    
  • Currently 4.00 / 5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  (6 votes cast)
 
[24,930 views]  

Delete iPhoto duplicate versions in Aperture | 3 comments | Create New Account
Click here to return to the 'Delete iPhoto duplicate versions in Aperture' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
Delete iPhoto duplicate versions in Aperture
Authored by: Arlo on Jun 27, '06 08:05:07AM

"Thus, if you make even minor edits to each photo, the size of your library will double. "

Not to be pedantic, but iPhoto's library won't "double". A given image that is edited will have a copy, but that doesn't suddenly double the whole library. And unless you're massively editing lots of images, the number of "Modified" shots tends to be rather small.

---
www.automatorworld.com
"Better Living Through Macintosh Scripting"



[ Reply to This | # ]
Delete iPhoto duplicate versions in Aperture
Authored by: clith on Jun 27, '06 08:05:55AM

Note that iPhoto (last time I checked) does *not* do lossless JPEG rotations (unlike Graphic Converter and other apps). so when you rotate your photo, it is recompressed and loses some quality. So you may want to keep the original, non-rotated photo around for quality reasons.

This is the main reason I don't use iphoto btw.



[ Reply to This | # ]
Delete iPhoto duplicate versions in Aperture
Authored by: Arlo on Jun 27, '06 08:11:43AM

iPhoto DOES keep the originals. That's the whole point of the separate "Modified" folder. You can always revert to original from within iPhoto, or just grab it from the "Originals" folder.

---
www.automatorworld.com
"Better Living Through Macintosh Scripting"



[ Reply to This | # ]