Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!

10.4: How to reuse Automator workflows System 10.4
Tiger only hintI often save Automator workflows as applications or plug-ins. The nice thing about that is that you just select it or double-click and it runs, without launching Automator. The bad thing is that if you don't save a seperate copy as a workflow, you can't modify it anymore and you'll have to create it again from the beginning if you don't like it. Actually, you can modify these files.

To reuse workflows saved as Applications, control-click or right-click the file and choose "Show Package Contents" from the contextual menu. Double-click the Contents folder in the new window, and you'll see a file named document.wflow. Double-click it, and it will open in Automator. Make your changes, and do a "Save As...," set it as an application or anything else (don't try to save it in the package as document.wflow, though; it won't work for some reason). If you don't want the old version of your application, you can trash it.

If you want to modify a workflow you saved as a plug-in, navigate to your user's Library -> Workflows -> Applications directory, and double-click the folder with the name of the application for which you saved the plug-in (i.e. Finder or iCal). You'll see your plug-in's name. Just double-click it, and it will open in Automator. You can then modify it and just save it; there's no need to "Save As...". You'll be able to use your modified plug-in.

[robg adds: For workflows saved as applications, an easier solution is to just drag-and-drop the application onto Automator's icon in the Finder (or Dock).]
    •    
  • Currently 3.00 / 5
  You rated: 5 / 5 (2 votes cast)
 
[7,308 views]  

10.4: How to reuse Automator workflows | 0 comments | Create New Account
Click here to return to the '10.4: How to reuse Automator workflows' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.