Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!

10.4: Disable Connect to Server clear text warning Network
Tiger only hintThe main idea behind this hint would be to run servers that accept secure encrypted logins, but if you are not in the position to change the server environment, and have hundreds of Macs that you wish to disable the Connect to Server clear text warning on, this hint should work as expected. Use Apple Remote Deskto or other methods for multiple machines -- it's the 'getting around the UI' bit that counts in this case.

I believe this also serves to detail the proper way to edit nested dict keys using defaults write (man defaults in Terminal.app if you have further interest). Here's the long (one-line!) command:
defaults write NSGlobalDomain com.apple.AppleShareClientCore -dict \
afp_active_timeout -int 0 afp_authtype_show -bool false \
afp_cleartext_allow -bool true afp_cleartext_warn -bool false \
afp_debug_level -int 6 afp_debug_syslog -bool true afp_default_name \
"" afp_idle_timeout -int 0 afp_keychain_add -bool false \
afp_keychain_search -bool true afp_login_displayGreeting -bool true \
afp_mount_defaultFlags -int 0 afp_prefs_version -int 1 \
afp_reconnect_allow -bool true afp_reconnect_interval -int 10 \
afp_reconnect_retries -int 12 afp_ssh_allow -bool false \
afp_ssh_force -bool false afp_ssh_require -bool false \
afp_ssh_warn -bool true afp_use_default_name -bool false \
afp_use_short_name -bool false afp_voldlog_skipIfOnly -bool false \
afp_wan_quantum -int 0 afp_wan_threshold -int 0
[robg adds: I have not tested this one...]
    •    
  • Currently 1.00 / 5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  (1 vote cast)
 
[8,965 views]  

10.4: Disable Connect to Server clear text warning | 1 comments | Create New Account
Click here to return to the '10.4: Disable Connect to Server clear text warning' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
10.4: Disable Connect to Server clear text warning
Authored by: rfitz on Jul 05, '05 12:34:13PM

Is there a way to change this setting system wide instead of just for the user that executed this command?



[ Reply to This | # ]