Submit Hint Search The Forums LinksStatsPollsHeadlinesRSS
14,000 hints and counting!

Permanently delete files without a stop in the trash System
If you delete the folder ~/.Trash (you'll have to do it from the Terminal), you can delete files without first moving them to the Trash. You get the "The item FOOBAR will be deleted immediately" window, like when you delete files from a server.

In 10.2, the folder would be created automatically when you deleted a file, so it's a new and nice/dangerous function in 10.3. The folder will be recreated when you logout, though, so you have to make a script or application to delete it per login.

[robg adds: From my seat, this hint is NOT recommended. The trash can serves a valuable purpose on my machines -- it protects me from myself! I did test this hint, though, and it does work as described.]
    •    
  • Currently 1.25 / 5
  You rated: 1 / 5 (4 votes cast)
 
[15,101 views]  

Permanently delete files without a stop in the trash | 5 comments | Create New Account
Click here to return to the 'Permanently delete files without a stop in the trash' hint
The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.
how about the reverse?
Authored by: hayne on Nov 26, '03 05:14:56PM

I also would not recommend removing the Trash folder.
But this hint makes me think that perhaps it could be very valuable if performed in reverse. I.e. I wonder if you created a ".Trash" folder on a networked volume, would it then be used for holding files pending deletion, instead of the currently rather unfriendly "files will be deleted immediately" behaviour?



[ Reply to This | # ]
If you delete the folder ~/.Trash...
Authored by: davidlloyd on Nov 26, '03 07:28:08PM

Actually, even if you create the .Trash folder again via the terminal, you still get the "...will be deleted immediately" message. What seems to set things right is relaunching the Finder (go to Force quit), which is quicker than logging out and in. It looks like the Finder is needing to do something to the new trash folder in Panther, but what? I don't think it's a permissions issue... Does anybody have a clue?

---
David L



[ Reply to This | # ]
Permissions
Authored by: gabester on Nov 27, '03 12:47:56AM

When I installed Panther on a new partition, I copied over my user folder from another partition... somehow file permissions got screwed up and I had no write access to the ~/.Trash or even /.Trashes folder.

This resulted in files being "immediately deleted" every time. It was quite annoying, but would seem to be the answer to making this hint "stick" without running a script at every login.

However, why you would want to immediately delete files is beyond me! Moreover, since Panther now has automatic file defragging built in, how long is it before we see simple file recovery that works (i.e. Norton has NEVER, EVER been able to recover a file I accidentally deleted, although it seems to fine with any other random file on my computer that I would never want to recover!)



[ Reply to This | # ]
Permissions
Authored by: pcunix on Nov 27, '03 09:53:52AM

"However, why you would want to immediately delete files is beyond me!"

Funny, I think just the opposite: why on earth would you NOT want to immediately delete a file?

Which is probably why I use "rm" rather than Finder when I'm cleaning up things..



---
--
Tony Lawrence
Free SCO, Mac OS X and Linux Skills Tests: http://aplawrence.com/skillstest.html



[ Reply to This | # ]
Permanently delete files without a stop in the trash
Authored by: inspired_tmu on Dec 05, '03 10:52:54PM

I don't know if XP lets you do this, but I remember that in previous versions of MS Windows, you could actually set this behavior from the GUI.



[ Reply to This | # ]